about me

What I do

I am an early career academic historian and anthropologist. I am interested in a broad range of topics such as; identity, citizenship and equality, historical representations and digital methods. I have a diverse educational background and I am internationally oriented; I conducted research on rural to urban migration in Mbarara, Uganda and obtained education from the Netherlands, Belgium and Italy.
Currently, I am working at the Erasmus University in Rotterdam (NL) as a PhD-researcher. I work within the project Sport and Nation and my doctoral research is on Football Fandom and Holocaust Education. I am interested in football-related antisemitic discourse(s) in on- and offline spaces. My research also involves educational programmes initiated to prevent discrimination and antisemitism in football stadiums in the NetherlandsI also teach Global History, a course during which first year history students are introduced to the history of the world from 1500 to present. The political, economic and cultural interaction between the non-Western history and Western history is central to this course.
I am passionate about science communication and sharing knowledge. I think it is important to share academic knowledge with a wide audience, as such I became a committee member of wetenschapscafé Rotterdam. Together with other PhD-candidates from different faculties I organise monthly science cafés in Rotterdam. Science cafés are events that take place in casual settings such a pubs, coffeehouses or libraries. The events we organise are open to everyone and feature an engaging conversation with EUR or EMC academics on their topic of expertise. 
Next to my academic work I am also involved with Changing the Chants, a European project that aims to combat antisemitism in football through informal education and law-enforcement. 

Fun Facts

I am writing an article on online hate speech and football-related antisemitism.

I am trying to learn Python.

I have visited 29 countries on 4 different continents and lived in 5 different countries.

I am currently based in Rotterdam, the Netherlands.

(Visited 33 times, 1 visits today)